Home Golf PGA Tiger Woods’ Ex-Coach Slams USGA’s Controversial Ruling on Sam Burns at US Open Finale

Tiger Woods’ Ex-Coach Slams USGA’s Controversial Ruling on Sam Burns at US Open Finale

0
Tiger Woods’ Ex-Coach Slams USGA’s Controversial Ruling on Sam Burns at US Open Finale
Hank Haney criticizes the USGA's decision on Sam Burns' ruling during the 2025 US Open's controversial 15th hole incident.

Hank Haney, Tiger Woods‘ former swing coach, openly criticized the USGA’s disputed ruling against Sam Burns during the final round of the 2025 US Open at Oakmont. The incident occurred on the 15th hole when Burns’ tee shot landed in water after heavy rain, sparking debate over the application of golf’s casual water rules.

Burns, who was just one shot behind the leader at the time, requested relief from standing water for his next shot, but tournament officials denied the relief. As a result, Burns took a double bogey on the hole, which severely impacted his momentum and contributed to an 8-over 78 round, dropping him out of contention.

Details of the ruling and Haney’s response

The controversial moment unfolded when Burns’ practice swings on the wet lie caused water to splash, prompting him to seek relief under Rule 16.1b, which covers casual water. The rule allows free relief if standing water interferes with a player’s stance or swing, but officials insisted relief was not warranted.

Haney responded critically to a social media post by Golf Digets asking,

“Do you agree with Sam Burns’ rulings?”

He wrote,

“No one agrees except the USGA, which is typically the case, and there in lies the problem.”

Haney’s comment highlights ongoing frustration with USGA decisions, which have been contentious in the past.

Notably, the USGA has not issued an official explanation regarding this recent ruling. Similar controversies have occurred before, such as in 2016 at Oakmont when Dustin Johnson was penalized for ball movement on the green, an incident that sparked rule changes to prevent ambiguous penalties.

Tiger Woods
Image of: Tiger Woods

Sam Burns shares his reaction to the disputed ruling

Burns concluded the tournament tied for seventh place after a disappointing final round, following strong early rounds of 72, 65, and 69. Speaking at a post-round press conference, he described his experience on the 15th hole and his frustration with the officials’ decision.

“That fairway slopes left to right. That’s kind of the low part of the fairway there. When I walked into it, clearly you could see water coming up. Took practice swings and it’s just water splashing every single time. Called a rules official over, they disagreed.” —Sam Burns, Professional Golfer

“I looked at it again. I thought maybe I should get a second opinion. That rules official also disagreed. At the end of the day, it’s not up to me, it’s up to the rules official. That’s kind of that.” —Sam Burns, Professional Golfer

Despite the setback, Burns remains optimistic about his upcoming schedule, planning to compete next at the Travelers Championship at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut, from June 19 to 22.

Impact of the ruling on the tournament and broader implications

The controversial ruling on casual water at the 2025 US Open not only altered the leaderboard but also fueled debate about how golf’s rules are applied in high-pressure situations. JJ Spaun went on to win his first major at Oakmont, but the controversy over Burns’ penalty has spotlighted the need for clearer interpretations of water-related relief.

This incident follows a pattern of USGA decisions that have stirred criticism from players, coaches, and fans alike, indicating possible pressure on the governing body to revisit and refine certain rules. As golfers prepare for upcoming events, the controversy serves as a reminder of how pivotal strict rule enforcement can be during championship moments.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here